All souls day, Christmas eve and New year’s eve holidays postponed

  • by

President Rodrigo Duterte postponed several holidays for 2021 to strengthen the country’s effort to improve the economic growth of the Philippines.

The Proclamation No. 1107 of PRRD which he signed on February 26,2020, will turn the previously declared special holidays to regular working days. Such special holidays are Nov. 2 (All Souls’ Day), Dec. 24 (Christmas Eve), and Dec. 31 (New Year’s Eve).

“For the country to recover from the adverse impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special (working) days instead,” -Proclamation No.1107



The country is experiencing a recession after months of community quarantine protocols which has forced businesses to shut down, displacing million of workers.

Meanwhile, here are the remaining national holidays for 2020

Regular holidays

April 1 – Maundy Thursday



April 2 – Good Friday

April 9 (Friday) – Araw ng Kagitingan

May 1 (Saturday) – Labor Day

June 12 (Saturday) – Independence Day



August 30 (Monday) – National Heroes Day

November 30 (Tuesday) – Bonifacio Day

December 25 (Saturday) – Christmas Day

December 30 (Thursday) – Rizal Day



Special non-working days

April 3 – Black Saturday

August 21 (Saturday) – Ninoy Aquino Day

November 1 (Monday) – All Saints’ Day

December 8 (Wednesday) – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary



Read more: Deped calls for in-person classes



RECOMMENDED


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *