Skip to content

DepEd Prepares to Initiate Pilot Testing of Revised K-10 Curriculum on September 25

  • by

In an announcement made on Sunday, the Department of Education (DepEd) unveiled the roster of selected educational institutions set to embark on a pilot testing phase for the innovative MATATAG K-10 curriculum. This novel curriculum seeks to alleviate the current curriculum’s congestion by streamlining the number of learning areas and placing a significant emphasis on fundamental skills.

The chosen 35 educational institutions span across various regions, including the Cordillera Administrative Region, Metro Manila, Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Visayas, Soccsksargen, and Caraga.

Commencing on September 25, the DepEd is gearing up for the pilot run of this revamped curriculum.

The introduction of the MATATAG K-10 curriculum follows an extensive two-year study that led to a substantial reduction in the number of competencies students are required to master. Approximately 70% of the existing curriculum has been trimmed down, bringing the total learning competencies to around 3,600 from the previous tally of over 11,000. This adjustment aims to provide students with more time to focus on foundational skills, ultimately enhancing the learning outcomes.

In the early levels of education, the curriculum has been restructured from seven learning areas to five, now encompassing Language, Reading and Literacy, Math, Makabansa, and Good Manners and Right Conduct.

Originally slated for implementation in the 2023–2024 school year, the MATATAG curriculum encountered a delay due to the need for finalizing the pilot areas. The phased implementation will initially encompass Kindergarten and Grades 1, 4, and 7 in the current school year.

Below is the complete list of educational institutions participating in the pilot implementation:

Cordillera Administrative Region

  • Apayao
  • Calafug Elementary School
  • Baguio City
  • Rizal Elementary School
  • Dona Aurora National High School
  • Benguet
  • Lam-ayan Integrated School
  • Bineng National High School

National Capital Region

  • Malabon City
  • Damapalit Integrated School
  • Santiago Syjuco Memorial School
  • Muzon Elementary School
  • Tinajeros National High School
  • Santiago Syjuco Memorial Integrated Secondary School

Ilocos Region

  • La Union
  • Cabaruan Integrated School
  • Caba Elementary School
  • Acao Elementary School
  • Casacristo National High School
  • Don Rufino Olarte Memorial National High School

Cagayan Valley

  • Cauayan City
  • Cauayan North Central School
  • Isabela
  • Dingading Integrated School
  • Villa Teresita Primary School
  • Lanna National High School
  • Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo National High School

Central Visayas

  • Cebu
  • Tindog Integrated School
  • San Fernando North Central Elementary School
  • Tabogon Central Elementary School
  • Dumanjug National High School
  • Liloan National High School


  • North Cotabato
  • Mlang Pilot Elementary School
  • Sarangani
  • Lamlifew Integrated School
  • Alegria Central Elementary School
  • Malalag National High School-Upo Annex
  • Alegria National High School


  • City of Butuan
  • Baobaoan Integrated School
  • Pedro D. Duncano National High School
  • Surigao Del Norte
  • Suyangan Elementary School
  • Socorro National High School
  • Agusan Del Norte
  • Santiago Central Elementary School


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *